El Bautismo de Luz Maria

This week was so much better than last! Well first of all we had Luz’s
baptism and it was seriously one of the most powerful baptisms I have
ever gone to! After she went under the water she started crying. When
she bore her testimony she was talking about how much her life has
changed for the better since she met us five weeks ago! She is so
excited to go through the temple in a year, she can hardly wait. I am
telling you, I have never met someone so prepared to receive the
gospel as Luz Maria. I’m so blessed to have known her.

This Sunday was my last fast Sunday. It’s funny because I spent my
first fast Sunday in this ward as well! Actually it was my first
Sunday in general in the mission field. I remember that day my
trainer, Hermana Del Valle went up to bear her testimony. She went up
and sat on the stand and I was so worried that I would be in trouble
for not sitting next to her so about 30 seconds later I went and sat
next to her. But then I realized that I didn’t actually have to sit
next to her and that now I had to bear my testimony in a language I
could hardly speak! I can’t remember what I said but I am pretty sure
it was terrible Spanish! Luckily this fast Sunday I could speak the
language a bit better. But the embarrassing thing is that I totally
cried at the end when I told them I loved them. It was so
embarrassing, ugh.

Sacrament meeting was so good! We went to visit Jesus (our recent
convert) right before and invite his parents to church (they are not
members). They actually came! And they brought Omar, the little boy we
gave the minion to a while back. I was worried because Omar has autism
and usually can’t be quiet or sit still but it was no problem at all.
I was actually leading the music in sacrament and Omar was sitting in
the front row following my hand motions, haha. It was so weird because
I saw that the last hymn was #338 and I was looking in the Spanish
hymn book and there was not hymn #338 and then the bishop stood up and
said that we would be singing the last hymn in English! It was
“America the Beautiful” and let me just say, I am SO HAPPY that I was
conducting the music that day because it was hilarious to see people
try and sing a song in English! About 2/3 of the congregation was just
looking at the hymn book in confusion.

We also did a “Tree of Life” activity which was a big hit. The point
was to recreate Lehi’s dream from the Book of Mormon. They all thought
it was so cool! I was worried because I thought the set up was a
little ghetto since us missionaries were in charge of it and our
supplies are limited but it was really a great activity.

Well Happy Independence Day everyone! This is one of my favorite
holidays so enjoy it for me. We are so blessed to live in this
country. You should hear some of the stories I hear of all of these
immigrants who have come here from different parts of the world. It is
very humbling and really has changed my outlook on a lot of things in
life. Count your blessings!

Hermana Hershey

1: Luz Maria!!!
2: serving nachos at the tree of life activity
3: we had a nerf gun war to celebrate our 2nd amendment right! 🇺🇸
4: I got Hermana Gutierrez sick on accident.

 image1.JPG
Luz Maria!!!
image2.JPG
Serving nachos at the Tree of Life activity

image3.JPG

We had a nerf gun war to celebrate our 2nd amendment right! 🇺🇸

image4.JPG

I got Hermana Gutierrez sick on accident.

Leave a Reply

