Well everyone… this week was different.

On Monday night last week I felt terrible. Just absolutely terrible! I drank tons of water hoping my nausea would go away but it kept getting stronger and stronger. The elders came and gave me a blessing and then about an hour or so later I threw up. Then I threw up 5 or 6 more times that night NOT being able to sleep whatsoever. I was so exhausted I was almost delirious. 
The next morning I woke up at 6:30am (after falling asleep around 4am) and I told my companion that I needed to rest probably just until dinner and then we could go out. She texted the mission nurse and she FORBADE me to go out that whole day! I was not very happy about that. There I was, one month left in the mission and I was forbidden to go out in our area. But seriously I don’t really remember that day because I just slept and slept and slept and sweat off the fever I had. The next day I woke up and did my studies normally, I felt a lot better. I even went for an interview with President Jenkins that morning. I felt weak though, I was running on saltine crackers and sprite, but I guess I thought that was sufficient. At dinner I felt terrible. I asked Hermana Knudson and Gutierrez to go on a mini exchange with us so that one of them could drive so I didn’t have to (foreign missionaries are not allowed to drive in our mission). We went to a lesson and afterward we were walking to the next one I told Hermana Knudson that I felt really light like I was about to be lifted off the ground or something. I was just laughing about it and then she got really serious, made us go back to the car, and had me call the nurse.
I called the nurse AGAIN and she chastised me for a good 20 minutes telling me that I needed to stay inside, resting until SATURDAY. Keep in mind it was only Wednesday at that time. She said, “I don’t know what it is about you missionaries that makes you think you are invincible! There are about 8 other missionaries with the same thing as you!” I wanted to scream but I just ended up laughing since I was still a bit delirious… lol. Anyway, I won’t go on any further on how disappointed I was knowing that I practically had to stay a whole week inside. However, I also can not explain to all of you just how much a learned in that time as well.
As I was throwing up Monday night/Tuesday morning, the only thing that was on my mind was Jesus Christ when he was in the Garden of Gethsemane. It is weird, I know. But that was all I could think about. And when I would miraculously get about 5 minutes of sleep in between throwing up, it’s what I would dream about too. I thought about how much pain I was in in that moment, but how I can’t even imagine what the Savior had to experience for me and for you in Gethsemane. And he did it willingly.
The elders brought over tons of church DVDs for us to watch and during one of those days I watched a video about Jesus Christ’s suffering, death, and resurrection. I’ve seen countless videos like this one before, but it hit me harder that day I watched it. In the end, 2 Nephi 2:8-9 popped up on the screen:
“Wherefore, how great the importance to make these things known unto the inhabitants of the earth, that they may know that there is no flesh that can dwell in the presence of God, save it be through the merits, and mercy, and grace of the Holy Messiah, who layeth down his life according to the flesh, and taketh it again by the power of the Spirit, that he may bring to pass the resurrection of the dead, being the first that should rise.
Wherefore, he is the firstfruits unto God, inasmuch as he shall make intercession for all the children of men; and they that believe in him shall be saved.”
This week was a bit of a tough one for me. I was physically sick, I felt weak and tired – more than I ever have before on my mission, I have been somewhat stressed as this is my last month in the mission, President and Sister Jenkins are leaving and many changes are coming my way. But at the same time I feel comforted, knowing that the Son of God understands me and knows exactly how I feel and reassures me that it will all work out.
If I could tell you all that I’ve done, all that I’ve learned and experienced in one email for each week it would surely never end. But I hope you can understand what I am trying to get across here. I really love serving the Lord. I know that I am doing His work here in Arizona. I know He loves me. I know He loves you.
Hermana Hershey
image1.JPG
Hermana Escobar happily enjoying her Taco Bell as I eat soup.
image2.JPG
This is Mariana, her mom is getting baptized this Saturday! She is so golden!
image3.JPG
President and Sister Jenkins had a farewell breakfast this morning for all July departing missionaries (since they leave tomorrow morning and won’t get to be there at our farewell dinner) and after we all got our itineraries. I will be flying first to Utah and then to Idaho from there.
Leave a Reply

