¿”Dónde está el minion”?

Hi everyone!

First of all, Happy Father’s Day to all of those fathers
out there! Hope it was a great day for everyone.

This week went fast as usual but a lot of miracles happened. We went
looking for this referral we received a while ago named Isabel. When
we got to the door, this man opened it up and told us she wasn’t home.
We asked what his name was, etc etc and ended up talking to him for a
bit. He just got here from Guatemala and was in a bad accident over
there. It was so bad that he shouldn’t have lived but he was telling
us that he has faith that God saved him for a reason. We shared a
scripture and our testimonies and asked if we could come back again
and he said that we’d definitely could because he believes we were
sent from God. He told us that he had prayed that God would send
someone to teach him about His word and then we showed up! It was so
cool!

Also, we went over to Luz’s house to visit. She was really busy and
asked us to come in. She had learned about priesthood blessings at
church and so she asked for one for her two daughters and her sister
and mother. The elders came over and gave them all blessings. At the
end they were all in tears and the spirit was really strong. The next
day we went back for a lesson and Luz’s sister really opened up to us
which was a miracle! She told us of some problems she has had and how
she thinks it’s amazing that two elders, that she has never met in her
life, came the day before and said exactly what she needed to hear.
They mentioned something very specific to her that she has been
worried about.

As she was sitting there telling us all of these problems she has
(which are pretty tough problems if I might add) I was feeling
inadequate and not really knowing what in the world I could say to
her. Then all of the sudden the thought came to me, “What are you
doing, Hermana Hershey? You have almost all of the teachings of the
Presidents in your hands (on my iPad) that you could share!” So I went
through my tags and shared this from Elder Dale G Renlund:

“At the same time, I can emphatically state that because of the
Atonement of Jesus Christ, ultimately, in the eternal scheme of
things, there will be no unfairness. “All that is unfair about life
can be made right.” Our present circumstances may not change, but
through God’s compassion, kindness, and love, we will all receive more
than we deserve, more than we can ever earn, and more than we can ever
hope for. We are promised that “God shall wipe away all tears from
[our] eyes; and there shall be no more death, neither sorrow, nor
crying, neither shall there be any more pain: for the former things
are passed away.”

The other day one of my recent converts messaged me and told me that
she is so grateful for all that I taught her. As I read that I
wondered if she – and all others I have taught while on my mission –
will ever know how much more I learned from them. Watching people
change because of the atonement has been one of the best learning
experiences for me. I don’t think these experiences could ever be
replaced by any others.

Our recent convert, Jesus, has a younger brother named Omar who has
autism. Omar is so fun to be around! He has so much energy! He also
loves the Minions. Hermana Gutierrez had a stuffed minion that she
told us we could give to Omar. So yesterday we went over and gave it
to him after a lesson with his family. I have never seen someone so
excited to receive anything! It was so cute to see his face just light
up over something so small!

Well I have so much more to say but this email is already pretty long
but I will leave you all with my testimony of the priesthood (aka the
authority from God to act in His name). I know that that power was
lost for many centuries after the death of the original twelve
apostles but that it was restored by the prophet Joseph Smith. Many
think that we may worship Joseph Smith, but that it far from the
truth. We only worship God the Father. Joseph Smith was just another
prophet as Moses and Abraham were. But I do know that he was an honest
man and that if anyone ever has any questions or doubts about the
church the first thing they need to do is read the Book of Mormon and
pray to know if it’s true. Because if the Book of Mormon is true, then
everything else we teach and believe goes right along with it.

I love you all –

Hermana Hershey

 image1.JPG
Omar and his minion
image2.JPG
 blurry but this is my best friend!
image3.JPG

we tend to carpool with our roommates

image4.JPG

I have been drawing things that happen during the week in Hermana
Escobar’s 12-week book (for trainees)!

Leave a Reply

