El Principio del Final

Dear family and friends,

This week has been good. I literally cannot believe that this is my
last transfer! I started “My Plan” today and it was weird. I am
staying in the same area and finishing training Hermana Escobar.
President already told me beforehand so I wasn’t surprised. I am so
glad though! Also Hermana Knudson is coming with Hermana Gutierrez so
we will get to be roommates!

Wow so many things happened this week. First of all we went to the
visitors center with Jesus and an investigator named Osman. We watched
the Joseph Smith movie. In the middle Jesus tells us that he feels
sick and then runs out of the room. I think he had the flu because he
was shaking and sweating pretty bad. Poor guy threw up in the trash
can outside. We ran to a senior couple that serves in the VC and asked
he elder for a blessing. He was talking to this member who was
visiting the VC and asked if he would help in giving a priesthood
blessing with him. They take Jesus in the office and this random
stranger – who I have never met and still don’t know his name –
proceeds to give Jesus the most powerful blessing ever! I look up
halfway through and see that this man has a tattoo on his arm. It was
obvious that he is either a convert or was inactive for a while
before. My testimony of the Atonement was strengthened in that moment.
I was in tears at the end of that blessing. I tried to hide my face so
Jesus wouldn’t see me crying, haha.

One thing I have really come to realize is that no one is perfect. We
ALL make mistakes and fall sometimes. Everyone is different and has
different strengths and weaknesses. But we are not expected to be
perfect, and we are not expected to walk this life alone. We have a
Savior who understands us and is always there to help. I have come to
realize that there are many things I would not be able to do without
Him. And training a new missionary is definitely one of them.

“My Plan” is kind of strange and definitely not what I was expecting.
My whole life right now is the mission and “My Plan” helps me to see
that this is just the beginning and the best is yet to come after I
return home. I was kind of thinking that this was the best thing that
has ever happened in my life (even though it’s been tough) and I
wasn’t very excited to go back to a place where I know things will be
different and I will most definitely be different as well. But I can
see now that change will be good. However I am still glad to be in the
mission and I am still overwhelmed thinking of how much time I don’t
have.

Anyway, enough of that. It is so hot here! Above one hundred degrees
every single day! If you would like to feel what Arizona feels like I
invite you to turn your oven on and just sit in there. I’m not joking.
That is what it feels like. But I’m not complaining because I actually
think I will miss it in a weird way.

Things are going so well in the area. We have an investigator named
Angel and he is very prepared. He asked for Sundays off from work just
to go to church. He basically bore his testimony on the sabbath day
during one of our lessons. We also have a baptism this Saturday for a
young boy named Brent. We are seeing many miracles!

I hope you all have a wonderful day!

Hermana Hershey

image1.JPG

 image5.JPG
image4.JPG
Leave a Reply

