I’m Training?

Hola todos!

Shortly after I wrote my email last week, President Jenkins called and
told us to hurry over to the mission home to pick up Sister Escobar.
On the way over it was bitter-sweet because this transfer in a trio
has been the best one I have ever had so far! We got to the mission
home and President told us that I would be her trainer. She only had
one transfer in Guatemala which means I will be second-half training
her. I was really excited but also kind of nervous! We ended up taking
the south area while the other sister have the north.

Since we use iPads everything we do is digital. So our area book (aka
all the information we have about investigators i.e. Where they live,
what lessons they need next, etc.) was completely messed up all week
long. It made it hard to work but we managed to get around. Our first
night together we put someone on date to be baptized! It was awesome.
It’s still a little messed up but I’m sure we can work it out.

Jesus got baptized on Saturday! It was a great experience! It’s cool
because it’s the one investigator we taught from the beginning to the
end together in a trio. He was so nervous but his testimony was so
great! Not to mention he is the only convert I have heard talk about
the law of chastity in his testimony, haha.

So I don’t know what it is with me and getting sick in this area but I
have the flu AGAIN. I punched through it the first few days but now
today on preparation day I’ve decided to give myself a break and rest
until 6pm. Hermana Gutierrez is also feeling sick so we both stayed in
the apartment while Hermana Escobar and Brown went to do some fun
things, sigh.

I want to share part of a talk I love by Elder Jeffery R. Holland. He
is talking about Peter the apostle and how after Jesus Christ died
Peter went fishing again instead of preaching the gospel. Jesus kept
asking Peter if he loved him and Peter kept saying yes. Elder Holland
paraphrases in his own word what Jesus Christ said to Peter:

“Then Peter, why are you here? Why are we back on this same shore, by
these same nets, having this same conversation? Wasn’t it obvious then
and isn’t it obvious now that if I want fish, I can get fish? What I
need, Peter, are disciples–and I need them forever. I need someone to
feed my sheep and save my lambs. I need someone to preach my gospel
and defend my faith. I need someone who loves me, truly, truly loves
me, and loves what our Father in Heaven has commissioned me to do.
Ours is not a feeble message. It is not a fleeting task. It is not
hapless; it is not hopeless; it is not to be consigned to the ash heap
of history. It is the work of Almighty God, and it is to change the
world. So, Peter, for the second and presumably the last time, I am
asking you to leave all this and to go teach and testify, labor and
serve loyally until the day in which they will do to you exactly what
they did to me.”

I feel the same obligation as Peter as a missionary. I know that this
is the work of the Lord. I am so privileged and blessed to be here
knowing that the Lord has confidence in me.

We went to the trainers/trainee meeting on Tuesday and my mission
president asked me to share some thoughts just randomly to all of the
new missionaries. I told them, “One thing that I have learned is that
we are not perfect. But if we sincerely try to help assist in this
work, God will make up for what we lack. This is His work that we are
doing. I know that you are all just starting your missions, but in
reality I hope you know that you don’t have much time left. Enjoy this
time and use it wisely.”

Hermana Hershey

1: Hermana Escobar!
2: Jesus’s baptism
3: these are called popusas. It’s kind of like a tortilla stuffed with
cheese and beans and meat of some sort. This is probably why I always
get sick here.
4: no fun being sick

 image1.JPG
Hermana Escobar!

image2.JPG

Jesus’s baptism

image3.JPG

These are called popusas. It’s kind of like a tortilla stuffed with
cheese and beans and meat of some sort. This is probably why I always
get sick here.
image4.JPG

 

 no fun being sick
Leave a Reply

