Goodbye Pueblo :(

Wow these last three days have been such a roller coaster of emotions.
I thought for sure I was staying in Pueblo but I got transfer news on
Sunday night and I am leaving. 😦 I am going back to my first area
(Liahona 4th, the super ghetto but totally awesome area) and I am in a
trio! So I have two companions now which I’ve always wanted. And I AM
WITH HERMANA GUTIERREZ AGAIN!!!! So I was freaking out because I was
so happy about that but then I realized that I would be leaving.
Hermana Gonzalez also went back to the VC so they whitewashed our area
which is so horrible! We have two more people being baptized within a
month so it was so sad! But with so few Spanish so many things had to
be changed around in our mission. My heart was seriously broken. I
have never loved the people so much and it seriously felt like a
breakup or something! I couldn’t sleep that night and saying goodbye
the next day was the worse thing ever.

Nevertheless, I am so grateful that I was able to serve there for six
months. I learned so much, and though my companionship was different
and somewhat tough on me, I have learned a ton and I am so grateful
for that. Last Friday we were in a meeting and the opening song was
“I’ll Go Where You Want Me To Go” and it hit me so hard. I think the
spirit was telling me that I was going  to be transferred but that it
was going to be okay. I tried to ignore the feeling because I really
didn’t want to leave. These words in the hymn really hit me:

“There’s surely somewhere a lowly place
In earth’s harvest fields so wide
Where I may labor through life’s short day
For Jesus, the Crucified.
So trusting my all to thy tender care,
And knowing thou lovest me,
I’ll do thy will with a heart sincere:
I’ll be what you want me to be.”

It is mixed emotions because I have always wanted to come back to my
baby area and be in a trio (not to mention Hermana Gutierrez is my
best friend), but I really do feel so heartbroken. I had so many great
experiences, especially watching the conversion process of all of the
investigators. But I trust the Lord.

I am going to miss my district! We were the only sisters and all of
those elders are like brothers to me. We had so much fun with them and
they are all so hardworking. I know that I will love my new district
as well.

So many miracles happened this week! One thing that really touched my
heart was when we were teaching a girl named Natalie. She has been
quite a tough investigator because she has a ton of questions. We went
over the restoration again and while I was talking with her she said,
“You know, Hershey, I really feel something different when you talk.
It’s like the spirit is there. It’s like he is a part of you or
something.” It is amazing to me that I can be an instrument in the
Lord’s hands to help His children here.

There were so many things that had happened this last week that I
can’t even write it all. But I will just leave you all by saying that
I am so happy to be here right now. My mission hasn’t really been what
I expected, but I am grateful for every humbling experience, every
companion and every trial that has made me grow. Now that I am in my
last two transfers I can hardly believe it. But one thing I know is
that I will not stop working until I die (mission lingo: die =
finishing mission and returning home). And even after then I hope to
continue on sharing the gospel.

I hope you all have an amazing week. Hopefully the police don’t come
every week like they did a year ago when I lived in these same
apartments. 😉 Not to scare you or anything, mom.

Hermana Hershey

2: Yaiza, the worlds sassiest toddler
3: the Godoy Family
4: my new companions!

image1.JPG

My district that I will miss so much, we took a bunch of pics but this one was my favorite, haha!

 

image2.JPG

Yaiza, the worlds sassiest toddler

image3.JPG

The Godoy Family

image4.JPG

My new companions!

Leave a Reply

