“Seguidme”

Hi everyone!

This was a really fast week! I feel like I just barely emailed you. It
is weird how it goes faster and faster as time goes on. I hit my 15
month mark last week which is so strange. In reality I don’t have much
longer but it feels like I still have a while, or that I should still
have a while. Anyway, it’s a weird feeling.

We did a lot of service this week! We helped so many people clean. I
have never deep cleaned so many times in a week in my whole life!
Thankfully I have a good mother who taught me how to clean since I was
young. Some of the things my mom would do I thought were crazy and
unnecessary (like wiping the baseboards or cleaning behind the fridge)
but now that I have seen many houses where they don’t do those things
I can see that maybe my mom was right all along. It’s funny how many
times I’ve thought, “Well, I guess my mom was right about that!” I
have realized that I take her for granted. So thanks, mom! For all
that you do!

In relief society on Sunday the lesson was about missionary work. The
lady giving the lesson said to me during the lesson, “Hermana Hershey,
what made you want to come on a mission? Did your dad say the he would
give you a car if you went?” And then everyone turns to me and I just
say, “Yes.” And then they all started laughing! But then I explained
the REAL story and that I read the Book of Mormon and it changed my
life so I had the desire to share the gospel. It got me to think of
that time (just about 2 years ago now) when I was going through some
tough times and I just wanted to know if it was all really true. I
know that the Book of Mormon is true. I know that the atonement of
Jesus Christ can heal and change lives. I love that I get to share
that with people!

This week we also went to an investigators wedding! It was very simple
but super sweet. Our investigators name is Christian and his wife is a
member. He is a former Jehovah’s Witness (I know know why I always
teach so many of them!) and he wants to learn about the gospel so his
wife (fiancé at the time) called us and asked if we could come teach
him. And now he has a baptismal date in May! We are very excited for
him!

We FINALLY get to go to the temple this next week. I am looking
forward to it. It seems like it has been forever since I’ve been
because we are going towards the end of the transfer instead of the
beginning. I am so excited to go and I am so grateful we even get to
go in our mission! It has been a huge blessing in my life. The temple
is something I think we sometimes take for granted since we all have
one fairly close to us. And here in Mesa our members have 3 that they
can easily go to anytime!

Well I will end with something that I studied this morning. It is one
of my all time favorite stories in the New Testament. In Matthew
chapter 14 it talks about Jesus walking on the sea. When His disciples
saw Him they thought it was a ghost and were afraid but when they
recognized him I love what Peter does:

8 And Peter answered him and said, Lord, if it be thou, bid me come
unto thee on the water.

29 And he said, Come. And when Peter was come down out of the ship, he
walked on the water, to go to Jesus.

30 But when he saw the wind boisterous, he was afraid; and beginning
to sink, he cried, saying, Lord, save me.

31 And immediately Jesus stretched forth his hand, and caught him, and
said unto him, O thou of little faith, wherefore didst thou doubt?

I think I am like Peter sometimes. I am willing to straightway follow
the Lord and when I try I realize that it is not easy. I make
mistakes, sometimes afraid, and I start to sink. But I always know
that Christ is there immediately to help me right back up. I sometimes
feel like I am not good enough but I know that He knows I can do it if
I only try. If I am only willing to heed the words, “come follow me”.
And I know it is the same for you.

Hermana Hershey

image1.JPG

Leave a Reply

