El Amor de Dios

Hi everybody,

This has been one of those weeks where I felt like I learned something new everyday. It has been great!

First of all, the Easter Pageant is officially over which is kind of a relief. It is an awesome show but I literally watched it eight times and working in the visitors center was kind of difficult because it was slow in the beginning. But I did meet great people and had
wonderful experiences! I am happy I got the opportunity to work there for a little bit.

As you all know, my mission uses Facebook. I don’t post all that often because I don’t really like doing online proselyting but last week I had a strange feeling that I should post something about the atonement. I was starting to doubt myself thinking I shouldn’t because it seems like a waste of time. But I did and someone commented on it who is a less active from when I was serving in the YSA ward. He said that he really needed what I posted. It was kind of an eye opener that posting isn’t something we just DO as missionaries but it has a purpose. I thought it was great that one small thing I posted helped someone out.

For a long time I have struggled with understanding one thing: and that is that God loves and cares for each and every person. I couldn’t quite understand how God could love every single person when there are so many people on this earth and so many who have already died. It’s something that has been bothering me. I could feel the love for the people I teach, but when I was at the Easter pageant and looked back at the 10,000 people sitting in their seats it made me wonder, once again, how that could be possible. Wherever I would go it seemed to be on my mind of something I could just not comprehend. This is a  question I have wondered about since my first days at the MTC. I remember one day, not too long ago, praying and telling Heavenly Father that I didn’t quite understand how He could know each of us by name, but that I would believe that He did. Miraculously my answer came to me this morning in my personal study, when I wasn’t even looking for it.

I randomly selected a conference talked from the April 2012 general conference titled “He Truly Loves Us” by Elder Paul E. Koelliker. In this talk I read a part that basically said that love is multiplied.  All of the sudden I thought of each one of my nieces and nephews (I
have 12 of them). I was remembering how each time a new one was born, I loved them just as much as the last. Now that I am far from them I feel that that has grown even more. I realized that it is true: love multiplies. My ability to love each and every on of my nieces and nephews has grown and never been divided. I believe that the same is true for our Father in Heaven. Though it is hard for a mortal mind to comprehend, He loves everyone of us and knows our names, desires, fears and much more.

I felt that Heavenly Father answered my prayer in a way that I could finally understand, but it wasn’t until I first showed faith that I believed. I was planning on sharing more, but that took up a big part of the email. I hope you all had a great Easter!

Sé que Jesucristo es el Salvador del mundo y que nos ama. Pero lo más importante es sé que Él vive y ha vencido la muerte y el mundo.

Hermana Hershey

image2.JPGactivity day girls that we took around the VC one day.image1.JPGcactus flowers and you can see the stage for the Easter pageant in the back!

image3.JPGpuppies we found outside someone’s trailer.

Leave a Reply

