Easter Pageant Round 2

unnamed-3

Hello everyone!

We had the Easter pageant this week and oh my I love it so much. I am so lucky that I get to see it twice on my mission. It’s definitely something that I want to come back and see in the future. I have also been working in the visitors center and it’s been slow compared to the night I worked at Christmas lights. But it has been great. Saturday was Spanish night so I got to speak a lot of Spanish in the VC which was nice.

We had breakfast with our recent convert this week as well and it’s funny because the elders who also taught her were with us and this was their first time having a Mexican breakfast. They drank a lot of horchata because they thought it was spicy. It made me realize just how much I’ve become accustomed to this culture because it wasn’t even
spicy to me and I wasn’t in shock for what we were eating (which was basically something like tortilla casserole with refried beans, of course). It was funny to see how the elders reacted though.

I wanted to share a funny story that the recent convert told us though! It turns out she named her son after her taxi driver. So when she was about to give birth she hopped in a taxi and said “I don’t have any money but I will name my son after you if you take me to the hospital!!!” So he was like “…okay!” And now her son can proudly say
that he was named after a taxi driver.

On a more serious note, I am still studying the atonement everyday and what I read this morning really helped me a lot. I read a talk called “Apply the Atoning Blood of Christ” by Elder Neal A. Maxwell. In this talk he talks about trials and why we have them and how to atonement can help. I will share just a little part of it:

“We too may experience moments of mortal aloneness. These moments are nothing compared to what Jesus experienced. Nevertheless, since our prayers may occasionally contain some “whys,” we too may experience God’s initial silence (see Matthew 27:46).”

Matthew 27:46 And about the ninth hour Jesus cried with a loud voice, saying, Eli, Eli, lama sabachthani? that is to say, My God, my God, why hast thou forsaken me?

I realized in this moment that everything I feel Jesus Christ had once felt. It’s something I knew but I guess did not quite understand until I read that scripture again. We all have trials but they all do prepare us for the future. Whether in this life or the life to come. I
believe that everything has an opposite. The more pain and sorrow we experience, the more joy we will be able to experience when we reach eternal life.

I’m grateful for the knowledge of a Savior and for His sacrifice. I know there are many talks and scriptures on the Atonement so I invite you all to study and ponder it more.

Hermana Hershey

I didn’t take any pictures since we don’t have our iPads while in the VC but there is a photographer named Jimmy that I met here and I will show you one of his pictures from the Easter pageant!

(Photo at top of post).

 

Leave a Reply

