Bautismo de Martinez y Libia

unnamedIt was a weekend of baptisms! And it was so great! Three out of the five Martinez’s were baptized! The mom gave her testimony at the end and it was so powerful. She talked about how she came to our ward for the first time and she was praying to know if this really was the truth. As we went to Sunday School we were talking about the priesthood and she said that she felt a peaceful feeling that she had never felt before that she couldn’t even explain. She received her answer that this church was true right there in Sunday school. It’s funny because I remember that day, and I thought it was a horrible day to bring an investigator because everyone kept on sharing their opinions, going into deeper doctrine, etc. but it just goes to show that the Lord is capable of doing His own work and it truly is the Spirit that can touch the hearts of people.
unnamed-1The next day Libia was  was baptized as well! So Libia is a Spanish lady that the English elders were teaching as well. She decided to go to the English ward to be with her children but she doesn’t speak English very well so she asked if we would keep teaching her. Her date was moved a couple of times but after a few months of chaos and confusion she was finally baptized! And she was so happy!

Though this week was filled with baptisms and other miracles it was still a bit of a tough one for me. With Matt’s birthday coming up, that seems to be something always in the back of my mind. It is not easy being away at this time. It wasn’t easy last year either. But
Heavenly Father always knows just what I need. Yesterday was particularly hard but we got the chance to take a few different investigators to the visitors center. In the VC they have a little exhibit called “God’s Plan for His Family” and it just explains why the family is so important and how we can live together forever. We showed this twice to two different groups of investigators and it was amazing because at the end I got to bear my testimony of eternal families. I felt the spirit so strong in both of those moments.

I know that the ordinances we do in the temple are so important and some of the greatest blessings we have. One of these ordinances is the sealing of a family. I had the opportunity to be sealed to my family back in 2001 in the San Diego Temple. Because of this, I know that I can live with my family again after this life. I know I will see my brother again. I know where he is and I know that he is happy.

Alma 40
11 Now, concerning the state of the soul between death and the resurrection–Behold, it has been made known unto me by an angel, that the spirits of all men, as soon as they are departed from this mortal body, yea, the spirits of all men, whether they be good or evil, are taken home to that God who gave them life.

12 And then shall it come to pass, that the spirits of those who are righteous are received into a state of happiness, which is called paradise, a state of rest, a state of peace, where they shall rest from all their troubles and from all care, and sorrow.

unnamed-2

I am blessed to have the knowledge that I have. I am blessed to have the family that I have. Part of why I came on a mission was to give back to God for all that He has given me, for He has given me a lot. I am forever grateful for forever families.

Love,
Hermana Hershey

Leave a Reply

