Flatiron

unnamed-1

Sorry to write kind of late today, but I went on a hike! Not just any hike though. This is the hardest hike in our mission. We started dark and early and 4:30am and didn’t get home until about 1:00pm. But the hike is called flatiron and it literally requires hands and feet. It
took so long to get up and it was the hardest hike I have ever done and probably will ever do in my life. But it was so amazing! I loved every second of it even though right now I cannot feel my legs.unnamed

On the way up I ran into a guy named Kevin who is a Jehovah’s Witness. We started talking and I testified about the gospel. It was cool that even during a hike early in the morning I got to share my testimony. It was a really great experience and one that I will never forget. I will add many pictures from the hike this morning. It’s funny because we got lost on the way down so it took about and hour extra. But it was so fun and I am grateful for all of the friends I have made here in Mesa. We went with almost the whole group who flew out to Mesa this time last year.

Well so much has happened this week I don’t even know where to begin! Hermana Avalos, the one who was just baptized a month ago, came with us to teach one night and her testimony is so strong! It just makes me so happy whenever I hear it! She is so great and I am so lucky to know her! We had a fireside last night and she and one of her sons bore
their testimonies and it was such a great experience!

I also went on exchanges with Hermana Zamudio this week and I just have to say that she is one amazing missionary and person. She has had so many trials, it is honestly unbelievable, and yet she is still here on a mission. She and her twin sister are the only members in their family. I learned a lot from her and I was actually working in the VC
for the day since she is a VC sister. It was a fun experience.

unnamed-2The Avalos family went through the temple to do baptisms for the dead and we got to accompany them! It was so amazing and also super crowded but they had a great time! It was cool to be able to go and help them through it! Afterwards they took us to get Sonoran hot dogs which are hot dogs wrapped in bacon and are topped with beans, onions, guacamole, ketchup, mustard and who knows what else. They were pretty
good though.

We rode with them in their car to save miles and the windows were down the whole time so my hair got so messed up and tangled! Karla tried to help me out with it and it was such a funny experience. We ended up ripping part of my hair out! It had never been that tangled before, haha. She is so sweet.

unnamed-6Well I just wanted to share a scripture from the Book of Mormon. It’s in Alma 37:37 which says, “Counsel with the Lord in all thy doings, and he will direct thee for good; yea, when thou liest down at night lie down unto the Lord, that he may watch over you in your sleep; and when thou risest in the morning let thy heart be full of thanks unto God; and if ye do these things, ye shall be lifted up at the last day.” I love this and it stuck out to me the other day during my studies. I think it’s so Struve that we need to always be praying and ask our Heavenly Father for guidance in all that we do. Whether it be school, work or family, I know that He cares and is always willing to help us if we let Him.

Well I love you all and hope you are doing well!

Hermana Hershey

Mas fotos:

unnamed-4

unnamed-7

unnamed-3

unnamed-6

unnamed-5

Leave a Reply

