Mucho Éxito

Hey everyone!

This week was so SO GOOD! This was the busiest week by far but I loved every minute of it! We found so many investigators this month we even passed our goal. We also have people on date to be baptized this month. Also, Carlos Avalos and his son (2 of the 5 who were baptized last week) got the Aaronic Priesthood on Sunday! They all have recommends to do baptisms for the dead in the temple! I am so excited for this!

Yesterday we went to the visitors center to watch Meet the Mormons with the Avalos and others from our ward and it was so great. Afterward I was showing Karla (the 15 year old girl) that my missionary tag was on the wall in one of the displays and then she said, “I already talked to my mom about going on a mission. I really am planning on going!” I was so excited! That was probably the highlight of my week.

With good things also come bad. We were at our investigators house talking to her outside when a man pulled up. He got out of the car and started talking to our investigator – totally interrupting our conversation. He turns to us and says, “So are you ladies with the LDS church?” And I said yes. Then he said, “So you think you have the truth?” And I said, “Yes, I know that we do.” He then was the most disrespectful and rude man I have ever talked to. He started quoting Bible verses at us and telling us that we were wrong and whatever.
Turns out he is a Pastor at some Christian church. It’s hard to believe someone would call them self a Christian and act like that. I tried my hardest to be kind and I told him that he is a son of God and that He loves him. Sigh, so many rude people.

It kind of left me in a downish mood and then I started to beat myself up a little bit. I thought that maybe I should memorize more scriptures and study the bible more in depth. I felt like maybe I just wasn’t “educated” enough. Then I remembered that the 12 apostles the Jesus called when he was on earth were not kings and princes from royalty but they were fishermen and common people. The Lord qualifies those He calls.

One thing that Pastor said was that Joseph Smith was a false prophet. He said that he, himself, had studied for years and went to school to do what he does and he has studied the Bible extensively. And apparently, in his opinion, Joseph Smith couldn’t have been a true prophet. A scripture from the Book of Mormon popped into my head.

It’s 3 Nephi 5:13 which says,
“Behold, I am a disciple of Jesus Christ, the Son of God. I have been called of him to declare his word among his people, that they might have everlasting life.”

I thought to myself, “Joseph Smith was called of God Himself. Who were
you called by? Your diploma?”

One thing I know is that Joseph Smith restored the gospel of Jesus Christ once again to the earth. He was called of God to be a prophet, a long with those who came after him and our living prophet today, Thomas S. Monson. That pastor is wrong. Based on what he was saying he did not understand the LDS religion and he was only looking to argue.

I think it’s funny that many people have tried to attack and run down my beliefs, but by attacking me it has only made my testimony grow. I am glad to be here on a mission at this time. It has not been easy but it has been worth it.

Hermana Hershey

unnamed
I just wanted to also show you these birds that we see everywhere here in Arizona! I didn’t know these type of birds existed here. I finally caught a picture.
Leave a Reply

