Baptism Galore

Hey everyone!

unnamed-1The Avalos Family was baptized and confirmed over the weekend! They are all so amazing and I am so grateful I had the opportunity to watch them be baptized. But let me tell you, it was a struggle. So Satan works really hard on those being baptized the week before their
baptism date. On Tuesday our ward mission leader calls and says, “So I just met with the Avalos, and the father said he doesn’t want to baptized anymore…” It was already almost 9pm so we couldn’t go over there. I was so sad and I know Hermana Knudson was too.

unnamedWe get home and after planning I go and pray my little heart out for this family. I end up getting an answer immediately that was basically like, “This is to test your faith.” SO we decided to say to ourselves, “No, the whole family WILL be baptized on Friday!” The next day we have a mission broadcast in the morning which I think prepared us for the lesson we had with them that night. Everyone kept coming up to me (and this was really testing my faith) and saying, “Wow! The ENTIRE family is going to be baptized? Like ALL of them?” And I just said, “Yep!” I kinda felt like I was lying but hey I call it having faith.

That night we go to the Avalos and the dad walks in and I was like, “Brother, what happened? Is it the church? Is it the gospel? What is the problem?” And he said that it was not the church and at he knew it was all true but that he would not be baptized. I was so frustrated because he just wouldn’t say why! After a while we finally figured it out. Turns out there was family problems and fights and pride got in the way. We showed them a video about the temple and I have never felt the spirit so strong in a lesson before. Then he said, “Yes, hermanas. We are ready to be baptized on Friday.” I don’t know how it happened exactly but I know I had little part to play in that lesson – it was
all the spirit.

The day of the baptism was so stressful as they were late and everything but now it’s over and it turned out great! I think I stressed out so much that the next few days after I ended up with a fever. But hey that’s okay.

unnamed-2After they’re baptism I hurried over to another baptism for a former investigator of mine in an old area! He grew up Jehovah’s Witness his whole life and has gone through 7 missionaries but he was baptized! I was supposed to give a little presentation but I got their late because our baptism was right before. Luckily I got to take a picture with him though, it was great!

unnamed-3Well I am still in pueblo but I have a new companion! Hermana Gonzalez has gone full-field out of the visitors center and is now here with me. We came out together. I actually met her in the MTC and was super excited because she was the fist person that I met going to the same mission as me!

Anyway I hope you all have a great week!

Hermana Hershey

Leave a Reply

