New Years Fiesta

HAPPY 2016!

unnamed
My zone and I at the New Years party. I am right next to the Polynesians who I got to “beat up” during our skit 🙂

We had a mission party on the first and it was so fun! We played tons of different games and did skits and things like that. I’m super glad I was sent to this mission. I was bummed at first when I opened my call and saw Mesa but now I would not change it for the world! I have made so many new friends and honestly this was the best mission for me! Now that I can actually speak Spanish it makes it even better.

So the family we have been teaching has a baptismal date for the 22nd of this month! It was such a miracle. On Saturday we went to their house and asked each of them again if they wanted to be baptized and they all said yes. The only thing is the father said he felt that he hadn’t received an answer to his prayers yet. We talked to him about the Holy Ghost and how it works differently for everyone. Well, the next day in church they all came again and I was talking with the mom and she said, “Have you talked with my husband?” And I said no. Then she said, “He said he is ready to be baptized now!” And I was so happy!

We have seen a lot of miracles this week. The beginning of the week was kind of slow and I was not feeling the best. However I have been praying for more diligence so I took that as a test. Even though it was rough and very slow and we couldn’t seem to find anyone to teach, we kept pushing through. Well we ended up seeing tons of different miracles because of that! We found a new investigator out of the blue and things seem to be falling in place! Now that Christmas Lights at the temple is over we have more time in our area which I am happy about.

Something else amazing happened! One of my old investigators from Valencia (the Jehovah’s Witness) messaged me on Facebook and told me that he was getting baptized! It’s the same day as the family we’re teaching but hopefully I can make it to that. I thought it was awesome that he messaged me to tell me that!

Also on the 31st we worked inside the visitors center. It was fun but I was super nervous because there is a lot of people and we had to stand in front of them and talk about the gospel and stuff. It was easy in Spanish, but when I had to do it in English it was kind of
weird. My companion for the night was Sister Duran and she was so helpful and encouraging! I got used to it at the end but the beginning threw me off a little bit. It was fun anyway.

Well I hope you all have a great week and even better new year!

Hermana Hershey

Leave a Reply

