Shrimp

Hey everyone!

This has been a great week! We went to the temple and it was amazing as always. Then we had our Christmas party and practiced for the concert we will be singing in on the 25th at the Visitors Center. I am really excited for that! On our way back to our car we saw we had a
flat tire! Luckily the elders helped us out and taught us how to change it. I think I’ve learned before but I have forgotten, haha.

This week we have seen a lot of miracles! We have 6 new investigators and 7 came to church! It was the craziest and busiest Sunday I have EVER had. But it was fun! And they all really liked it!

unnamed
Me at the Christmas lights

So there is this less-active that we have been looking for since I’ve come into this area and we have never been able to find him. However, this last week as we were working at the Christmas Lights we found him walking around! I go up and start talking to him (not knowing it was him) and my companion goes, “Vladimir?!” It was so crazy! We ended up talking to him for awhile and we got a referral out of it! But I love working at the Christmas Lights. It is so fun to talk with people.

This morning we went on a hike and it was a lot of fun. Arizona is so beautiful! Who knew cacti could actually look pretty? Not me. But I have come to love this state with all me heart. It was cool because while hiking I met someone from Mexico and then later someone else from Spain! So I got to speak Spanish with both of them. But the hike
was so much fun and I am also so thankful for all of the friendships I’ve made while here on my mission.

unnamed-1
Panorama from the hike this morning

I will leave you all with a funny story. So if you don’t know, I HATE SHRIMP. I have had to eat it countless times on my mission which has been the worst experience ever. Anyway, this week we went to dinner with a lady in our ward and when we walk in she said, “I hope you like mariscos!” (Which is seafood soup that has mainly shrimp in it). So as we start eating I manage to eat everything but the 15 or 16 pieces of shrimp. Meanwhile, my companion finished eating before me and the hermana was asking her if she wanted some more and she said, “Oh no, I’m fine. Thanks though!” But the problem is, the members who feed youdon’t like no for an answer so they kept on asking her and she kept on saying no. And finally I said, “You know what, my companion DOES want more, she’s just really shy. But here, Sister Knudson, you can have the rest of mine, I’m full.” And I made her eat all of my shrimp. I dodged the bullet that time. 🙂

Well I hope you all have a great week!

Hermana Hershey

Leave a Reply

