Fútbol

Hey!

unnamed
One of the Shreve girls

I hope you all had an fantastic Thanksgiving Day! I know I did. In the morning we went to a party that our ward was throwing in the park. Instead of playing football we played fútbol (soccer) and it was a lot of fun! The hispanic people here do Thanksgiving a little differently. For example we didn’t have turkey, instead we had chicken. And I don’t think I’ve ever eaten refried beans on Thanksgiving until this year. It was cool to experience something new! Then for dinner we ate with the Shreve Family. It was a good Thanksgiving!

Since we weren’t supposed to go tracting on Thanksgiving some of the people from our zone got together and played games at the stake center. We played Star Wars Monopoly and I won! It was so fun but kind of weird because I haven’t played boardgames in the longest time.

unnamed-1
The figurine the Ohio lady gave to me

Our first night working at the Christmas lights was on Saturday. It was really cold! It was a lot of fun though. I like that the Visitors Center is remodeled so that we have the chance to invite everyone to go look inside and they can’t give us the “I’ve lived here for 20 years, I know what the Visitors Center looks like” excuse. 🙂 I have already met some wonderful people. I met this young girl and boy who are from Japan and they are doing school here in Mesa for a little bit. It was so cool! Also, this family came up to us and they said, “Hey! We have something for you!” and they gave us both these little figurine-missionaries. They tried to get ones that look just like us. Turns out they are from Ohio! I told the lady that my brother is serving there and she said, “What’s his name? I am at the mission office all the time!” But they are in the Cincinnati Mission boundaries. Bummer. 😦

So I’ve been trying to work more on my Spanish. As a missionary in the U.S. learning a new language doesn’t come quite as easily since I’m not surrounded by Spanish all the time. I was kind of beating myself up about it this week. Then I went to dinner last night with this wonderful lady in our ward and her mom was over. Her mom is from El Salvador (and speaks zero English) and she was talking to me. She said, “Where did you learn to speak Spanish?” and I said, “Here, in Arizona while on my mission.” And her eyes got super big and she said to her daughter, “Did you here that, mija?! She learned Spanish here in Arizona and she doesn’t have a bad accent! She’s very good!” I think that was just a reminder from God that maybe I’m not doing as bad as I think I am. That made my night.

Well that’s about it for this week. Next week we have a lot going on. We are going to the temple and we have our mission Christmas party! We are also still working Christmas lights every other night.

It’s a great day to be an Arizona Mesa Missionary!

Hermana Hershey

Leave a Reply

