The Sweetest Family Ever

Hi everybody!

This is my last email to you as a 19 year old. That’s crazy.

unnamed-1
Brittani is the one in the purple flower dress

This week has been eventful. We have found a lot of new investigators which is good and surprising for this area. We also had Brittani’s baptism on Saturday! She has a calling in the ward and everything! She is so great and I am so happy for her.

I wanted to share just one experience that really helped me out a lot this week. On Sunday we went to have dinner with a girl in our YSA ward named Kady. She lives with her parents and 7 siblings. Three of her siblings are autistic. This family was so special and I could feel
a bit of sadness when I first met them. They were all really friendly and very inviting. At the end of each dinner appointment we have we share a spiritual message. It was my companions turn to choose the message so she showed them the Mormon Message “The Hope of God’s Light”. As she was talking about it afterward I was praying in my heart that I could say something that this family needed to hear. I was kind of nervous because I felt like I didn’t know what to say. When my companion stopped taking they all looked over at me and all of the sudden I started testifying about trials and how they help us grow. I then shared my testimony on how I know that families can be together forever. I don’t remember exactly everything I said that night but I remember looking up and seeing them all in tears. I felt the spirit so strong as I sat in their living room.

This whole week I have been feeling somewhat homesick. As the anniversary for my brothers death came up this week it was especially hard. I have been praying for help from Heavenly Father and have been trying to get through it. As we leave the family after sharing that message the words, “Remember, BreAnna, you are not here for you” came
into my head. I then remembered exactly why I chose to serve a mission: so that others can be with there families for eternity. Even though this family is already baptized and active members of the church, I am still thankful that I was able to bring to their remembrance the Plan of Salvation. I felt like something we both said helped them that night, but in turn I think they helped me even more.

I do have a testimony of eternal families. I know that we can be with our families in the next life as well as this one. As someone who has lost someone close to me, I am so happy I get to share this message with everyone!

I hope you all have an amazing week!

Hermana Hershey

unnamed
We also had a Spanish celebration with the branch!
Leave a Reply

