Tierra Rica & Eden Park

Hola todos.

image1So I am in my new area! I’m in a branch called Tierra Rica and also a YSA ward. It has been a wild past few days. First of all, we had a lesson with a girl named Brittani (getting baptized in October) and it was WEIRD for me. One: they were white. Two: the lesson was in pure English. Three: They were all really close to my age. But it was fun! Brittani is so sweet and has tons of friends that are there to support her.

In transfer meeting Sister Jenkins (President’s wife) had us all stand up and sing the primary song “The Family Is of God” and the spirit was so strong! I tried real hard to hold back my tears. I remember singing that in primary but now I actually understand it’s meaning so much deeper. It is one of my favorites!

That same day we went to a members house and she was telling us how she was having trouble setting up a Family Search account. She said she and others have tried it so many times and it never works. She even had so many family names to put in. So I was like, “We can help
you and see if it works.” So she gave it a shot and right when she went to put in her membership record it FROZE ON US. She said, “I just don’t think Satan wants me to make one!” Well then I got really stubborn because I was NOT going to let him win this one. So I spent the next 45 minutes or so trying to figure it out and we finally got it to work! Miracles.

We then went to find a less-active in the YSA ward named Olivia. When we showed up at her house her father was there and he was NOT a nice man. He totally yelled at us and starting bashing the Book of Mormon. He was baptized a few years back and fell away quickly. He was super rude and we tried talking to him and then he said, “Look I don’t want any hurt feelings and you know what you are always welcome here but I am Roman Catholic and that’s the way it is.” And I said, “We’re just looking for Olivia.” Haha.

Last night we had an amazing thing happen! We went to visit an investigator (YSA) named Dorian but he forgot and wasn’t there. His roommates were, however. They told us we could wait for Dorian so we did and we were all standing outside watching the eclipse. They quickly started asking us questions about our missions and what our purpose was. Then they invited us in and we explained what the Book of Mormon was. It was such a cool lesson! They both took a copy of the Book of Mormon and said they wanted to read it.

So that was my week. I left out a few more lessons and times we got yelled at but I think you all get the picture. I love my new area, my companion, and the Book of Mormon. I finished it and started over again. I learn something new each time. I know that the scriptures truly are the word of God and that He loves each one of us. I hope that whoever is reading this right now knows that they have a Father in Heaven and that He knows you personally. He knows your name and He has a plan for you.

Have a great week!

Hermana Hershey

Leave a Reply

