Faith

Hello everybody,
This week has been alright. We talked with a lot of people but mostly in English. In fact we hardly find new Spanish-speakers to talk to. But it’s alright. I’m pretty good at English anyway. 🙂
This week I was struggling a bit. I felt as if I was missing something and I couldn’t pin point it. After much prayer and many days, I came across Ether chapter 12 in my studies. The whole chapter is about faith, and I realized that’s what I was lacking.
Ether 12:6
And now, I, Moroni, would speak somewhat concerning these things; I would show unto the world that faith is things which are hoped for and not seen; wherefore, dispute not because ye see not, for ye receive no witness until after the trial of your faith.
It was this verse that stuck out to me the most. I realized I needed to have more faith even though times are tough and the area I’m in isn’t ideal. I encourage you all to read Ether chapter 12 in the Book of Mormon as soon as you can. It really helped me a lot and is now one of my favorites!
The photo booth at the activity
The photo booth at the activity

This week we helped out with our stake Activity Days activity. We taught the young girls (ages 8-11) about how Jesus Christ is our best friend. We then helped to show them how to invite their friends to church or activity days. It was a lot of fun to get to know some of the girls! They had a cute “photo booth” type thing and some of the girls that were in my group came up to me and said, “Sister Hershey! Will you take a picture with us?” It made me super happy! The whole activity was so cute and so well planned. I loved it!

Hermana Guevara and a horse.
Hermana Guevara and a horse.

I also went on exchanges this week with Hermana Guevara (my sister training leader) and it was one of the best days I’ve ever had in Valencia! We talked to so many people and did so much work! It was a miracle! We went to go find this man who is inactive in our ward and he lives in the corner of our area on a horse farm. It was so weird driving out there, it felt like I was leaving the mission! You could actually see the mountains. It was really fun to see all of the horses as well. So we ended up finding him and he is super friendly! He said he hasn’t been to church since he works everyday and he can’t seem to get a day off. We’re still working with him and trying to help him out.

We went to have correlation with our ward mission leader but when we showed up at his house his daughter told us he was in the hospital. He’s okay but he needs surgery this week. So we ended up talking with his daughter a little bit who actually served in the Arizona Scottsdale Mission and just got back a few months ago. She is super nice and has helped us a lot since we’ve been here in this area.

Me telling Michael to hush (Our mission leader's dog)
Me telling Michael to hush (Our mission leader’s dog)
Well I hope you all have an amazing week!
Hermana Hershey
Leave a Reply

