Obediencia Exacta

Hi everyone!
unnamed
My companion and I

This week was transfers and Hermana Gutierrez is now with me in Valencia! Our first day together was really awesome. We were walking around a condo complex and we walk by a house that has a mop outside their door (that’s a sign of Spanish-speakers) so we decided to knock on it looking for “Guadalupe”. A man opens the door and it turns out he wants to know more about the church! We had a lesson with him the next day and when we walk in the door his 2 year old son was wearing a BYU shirt. We asked if he was a member but he said no and that they got that shirt as a hand-me-down from his Aunt. It was really interesting. Anyway, he had a lot of questions which is a good sign and we are going back today to teach him the Plan of Salvation!

Also with transfers, we said goodbye to a lot of great friends who have finished their missions. It’s hard saying bye but I know that they’re off doing great things with their lives and they all finished their missions with honor. We also said hello to the new missionaries fresh out of the MTC! One of them happens to be Sister Hirschi (pronounced exactly like Hershey). That could be confusing.

We had a lesson in the Visitor’s Center also this week with a sweet old lady whose daughter really wants her to be baptized. We watched Meet the Mormons and she seemed to really like it. We should be having a lesson with her this week so she can learn more of her daughters religion.

I was reading in the Book of Mormon for personal study in Alma 57. As I’ve been reading about the stripling warriors, one question kept coming to my mind: “How are the striplings warriors so powerful and successful?” As I got to verse 21 I found the answer.

“Yea, and they did obey and observe to perform every word of command with exactness; yea, and even according to their faith it was done unto them; and I did remember the words which they said unto me that their mothers had taught them.” (Alma 57:21)
unnamed-1The stripling warriors were exactly obedient. Our mission president is always saying, “Obedience brings blessings. Exact obedience brings miracles.” I believe that to be true. And this doesn’t just apply for missionaries. I know that if everyone would be exactly obedient to the Lord’s commandments they could see miracles in their lives. As a missionary, it is critical to follow this. And it is also something I’ve been slacking since the transfer started, but I am working on it and I know the Lord asks us to do certain things for a reason. Like Nephi said:
“…I will go and do the things which the Lord hath commanded, for I know that the Lord giveth no commandments unto the children of men, save he shall prepare a way for them that they may accomplish the thing which he commandeth them.” (1 Nephi 3:7)
Have a wonderful week,

Hermana Hershey

Leave a Reply

