Dust Storms

Hello everyone!

This week has been really good and really hot! We were going to teach
the Plan of Salvation to a family and we took a box of crayons in our
car for them to draw it on a piece of paper. When we got to the
lesson, I opened the box of crayons a they were melted! It’s a good
thing we brought pencils, haha.

Also, we were walking through a trailer park to give a lesson when all
of the sudden the wind started picking up. I turn around to see a
tan-colored sky. It turns out Mesa has dust storms around this time of
year! We ran to our appointment and they let us in. It was insane!
People’s roofs were flying off and we saw someones pool going down the
road! I was only in it for 30 seconds or less but I had a layer of
dirt covering me. It lasted for about an hour and a half.

We have been working really hard in our area and seeing a lot of
miracles. We received transfer news yesterday and I am going to a new
area. I will be whitewashing (which means both companions are new to
the area) with Hermana Judy. I don’t know her super well but I’m
excited I get to! I know that she’s from Idaho and she has been out on
the mission field for 12 weeks. We are both still learning Spanish so
this will be a lot of fun! It’s my first time being senior companion
and I have to say I’m a little nervous. I had a feeling it would
happen though since I am the second “oldest” full-field
Spanish-speaking sister missionary in the Arizona Mesa Mission.
Hermana Hawkins (my current companion) is the only one who has been
out longer than I have. There are other sister missionaries who have
been out longer than I have but they are called to the Visitor’s
Center. I’m sad to leave the area I’m in now because I have grown to
love the people so much but I am also really excited.

Anyway, things in this mission are rapidly changing since almost all
of our Spanish-speaking Elders are leaving this transfer (tomorrow) or
next. Areas will be moved around a lot and it will be interesting to
see what happens. I hope you all have a wonderful week!

Hermana Hershey

unnamed-1 unnamed-2unnamed

Leave a Reply

