Close Your Ears

Well I’ve made it another week here at the MTC! I got my travel plans yesterday and I am leaving at 3:30 in the morning to head for the airport on February 24th. Luckily my flight is only 2 hours long! So far I’ve met two sisters going to Mesa as well but they are both fluent Spanish speakers. I hope I’m not the only one who doesn’t fluently speak Spanish in my travel group. But if I am… esta bien.

Something funny that happened this week is when we were giving a lesson to an “investigator” and we were trying to teach him how to pray. My companion was trying to tell him that when we pray we fold our arms, bow our heads, and close our eyes. But she accidentally told him that we close our ears! (Eyes and ears sound similar in Spanish) It was funny and he started to laugh. My companion is always cracking me up! I’m very grateful for that.
A few days ago I was a little bit worried about leaving because I didn’t know if I would be ready to go after just 6 weeks of being here in the MTC. I started reading the Book of Mormon again and when I read 1 Nephi 4:1 – it brought peace to me.
 
And it came to pass that I spake unto my brethren, saying: Let us go up again unto Jerusalem, and let us be faithful in keeping the commandments of the Lord; for behold he is mightier than all the earth, then why not mightier than Laban and his fifty, yea, or even than his tens of thousands?
In this part of the BoM, Nephi is talking to his brothers who are complaining. They are basically saying, “How can we do this? How can we get the plates from Laban when he is so powerful? It is not possible” It made me realize that I should not fear because God is mightier than anything in this world. I realized I had to put my trust in the Lord and not fear. I decided to do the opposite of fear which is faith. I know that by doing what the Lord would want me to do and trying my best He would not let me fail.
Anyway, that’s all I have for this week. I encourage everyone to read the Book of Mormon. And if you have not read it before try reading the introduction at first. It really does help!
I love you all!
-Hermana Hershey
p.s. Happy birthday to the world’s greatest parents!
Hermana Fowers likes the chocolate milk almost as much as I do!
Hermana Fowers likes the chocolate milk almost as much as I do!
I can't really explain this picture... but we had fun :)
I can’t really explain this picture… but we had fun 🙂

IMG_0254

Thanks for the strawberries!
Thanks for the strawberries!
I tried Tim Tams for the first time and they're so good!
I tried Tim Tams for the first time and they’re so good!
Hermana Taukafa is AWESOME and got all of us souvenirs from AUSTRALIA!
Hermana Taukafa is AWESOME and got all of us souvenirs from AUSTRALIA!
Random selfie in the hallway :)
Random selfie in the hallway 🙂
Hermana Fowers got her hair cut! She was so scared to do it but it turned out really good!
Hermana Fowers got her hair cut! She was so scared to do it but it turned out really good!
This is Elder Child from my zone. He has such a cool story. He's also a bromista (jokster). He told Hermana Fowers that he was born with an eye twitch and she actually believed him for like a week!
This is Elder Child from my zone. He has such a cool story. He’s also a bromista (jokster). He told Hermana Fowers that he was born with an eye twitch and she actually believed him for like a week!
View from the Provo temple!
View from the Provo temple!
Last P-day. This is pretty much how we all react when Hermana Taukafa makes a joke. She just cracks me up!
Last P-day. This is pretty much how we all react when Hermana Taukafa makes a joke. She just cracks me up!
Leave a Reply

