Faith

“Faith is not about being okay. Faith is about being okay no matter how things turn out.”

That is one of my favorite quotes from our fast sunday devotional last week!
So I am more than half way done with the MTC! How crazy is that? Soon enough I’ll be out in Arizona!
So I haven’t met very many people going to Arizona but I have met a lot of people from there and I always love talking to those people! They always tell me how amazing it is and that there are a lot of members but also a lot of less active people which excites me! I hope to meet those people and bring them back to the joy of the gospel!
The language is coming along a lot more than it was last week. I know that it will not be perfect by the time I leave the MTC but if I have faith and pray a lot I know I will be okay. Whenever I think of the Gift of Tongues I think of that one quote from Spiderman (I think? Movies start to jumble up in my head since I’ve been on my mission haha)
“Where much is given, much is required.”
It makes me realize that I need to work hard and that the language is not going to just magically come to me. I WISH it would magically come to me but that’s just not possible.
So every Thrursday my companion and I teach a short lesson to a member of the church (in Spanish of course) and this last week it was awesome! One of the members we taught this week was Ron from Chile! He has an amazing story! He told me that I had a really good spanish accent which surprised me! I honestly thought I was such a gringa in the way that I spoke spanish so it gave me great hope! Anyway, when we went to give him a lesson we didn’t really prepare anything but the first thing that came to my mind was Mosiah 3:19. I had him read it in spanish and the spirit was so strong! His whole face lit up as if he came to a realization of something. It was incredible! I am reminded everyday of why I am here.
Thank you to those who have sent me packages! It really lifts my spirits and I love getting little notes from you all!
That’s all I have for this week but I will leave you with another quote I heard this week:
“Come what may and love it. The secret is this; put your trust in the Lord.”
I love you all so much!
-Hermana Hershey
Hermana Taukafa trying pop rocks for the first time!
Hermana Taukafa trying pop rocks for the first time!

IMG_0221

The awesome package mi madre sent me!
The awesome package mi madre sent me!
This was our dinner a few nights ago!
This was our dinner a few nights ago!
I am so grateful for this wonderful companion of mine! She is so strong and there is no doubt that we were meant to be companions! She has quickly become one of my best friends!
I am so grateful for this wonderful companion of mine! She is so strong and there is no doubt that we were meant to be companions! She has quickly become one of my best friends!
Hermana Taukafa LOVES taking selfies with people's cameras
Hermana Taukafa LOVES taking selfies with people’s cameras
 Australian "lollies"
Australian “lollies”
Hermana Taukafa had us try some Australian "lollies"
Hermana Taukafa had us try some Australian “lollies”
Here is our whole zone all together :)
Here is our whole zone all together 🙂
Here is all of the Hermanas in our zone along with Sister Rich who is a part of the Branch Presidency!
Here is all of the Hermanas in our zone along with Sister Rich who is a part of the Branch Presidency!
This Elder is so tall we HAD to get a picture with him! I think (not sure) he is from Tonga. He is also going to Arizona!
This Elder is so tall we HAD to get a picture with him! I think (not sure) he is from Tonga. He is also going to Arizona!
This Elder (the one right next to me) is from Syria and bore his testimony last sunday in front of the whole MTC! His story is amazing!
This Elder (the one right next to me) is from Syria and bore his testimony last sunday in front of the whole MTC! His story is amazing!
All of the Elders in our zone!
All of the Elders in our zone!
Hermana Fowers trimming Hermana Reynolds hair!
Hermana Fowers trimming Hermana Reynolds hair!
Leave a Reply

