Faith Overcomes Despair – January 31

Wow what a week. One of the districts in our zone left on Monday and it was so sad to say goodbye! They were all Elders going to serve in Argentina! On Sunday they all stood up and sang a medley of church songs. I almost cried! It is weird how close we all got to them and we only knew them for 12 days! But they are all awesome and I know they will do great things in Argentina!

Something funny that happened this week: my companion and I were teaching our investigator Mercedes (in Spanish) and Hermana Fowers was trying to say that the spirit world is like a waiting room until the doctor comes to take you into his office. But instead she said that the spirit world is like a waiting room and we wait until the doctor comes to take us into his bedroom… fail. Mercedes couldn’t hold it back anymore and started busting out laughing! It was hilarious!
One thing that Hermano Norton told us this week that I really like was this:
“When we feel we are at the end of our rope, that is when Christ steps in.”
I can testify that that is true. If we follow Jesus Christ and his example He will always be there for us. I have been helped so much this past week by relying on the Lord. He is someone that will always be there for us.
My favorite part of the week is going to the temple. It gets better each time that I go. It is the one place that I can feel complete peace. I forget all of my worries when I am there. I challenge anyone reading this to try and go to the temple as much as you can. (If you don’t have a reccomend the temple is still so peaceful when you walk around the outside of it 🙂 It is a beautiful place and I am so grateful for it in my life.
Sometimes, during personal study, I go onto LDS.org and I watch Bible Videos. My favorite one that I watched this week is called “Laborers in the Vineyard”. If you have time you all should check it out. I also watched another Bible Video and this quote was in it:
“Whosoever will lose his life for my sake shall find it”
That is exactly what I need to hear this week. I’m looking forward to completely losing myself in the Lord’s work.
Also, thanks mom for making me pack a sewing kit! I haven’t used it yet but the other sisters in my room definitely have!
Anyway, that is all for this week. I love you all so much and I hope that you’re doing great! Don’t be afraid to write me letters! I can respond easier that way and my letters will be a lot longer than the emails I’ve been sending!
Things I would like: Pictures that I can carry around with me! (Mom, Dad, Sisters, Brothers, Grandparents, and Delilah) Also any others!
I love you all!
Yo se Jesucristo es el Salvador 🙂
– Hermana Hershey

 

Some of the Hermanas using the sewing kit I brought!
Some of the Hermanas using the sewing kit I brought!

IMG_0139

This Hermana is ALWAYS making me laugh! I am grateful for her!
This Hermana is ALWAYS making me laugh! I am grateful for her!
Hermana Fowers mom sent us things to celebrate our 2 weeks at the MTC!
Hermana Fowers mom sent us things to celebrate our 2 weeks at the MTC!
These are what my notes look like in case you were wondering... hahaha
These are what my notes look like in case you were wondering… hahaha
Hermana Taukafa like to take selfies with everyone's cameras. She told us to make a serious face in this one. :)
Hermana Taukafa like to take selfies with everyone’s cameras. She told us to make a serious face in this one. 🙂
This is Elder cook, he is from the district that just left - he was always cracking me up! I told him I did some photography in high school and so he told me to take a picture of him.
This is Elder cook, he is from the district that just left – he was always cracking me up! I told him I did some photography in high school and so he told me to take a picture of him.

IMG_0147

Some pictures when I walked out of the temple last Saturday
Some pictures when I walked out of the temple last Saturday
Leave a Reply

